Today in Sunday School we read the story in 2 Kings 4:1-7.  The story is below.
2 Kings 4 :
 1One day the widow of a member of the group of prophets came to Elisha and cried out, “My husband who served you is dead, and you know how he feared the Lord. But now a creditor has come, threatening to take my two sons as slaves.”  2 “What can I do to help you?” Elisha asked. “Tell me, what do you have in the house?”
“Nothing at all, except a flask of olive oil,” she replied.  3 And Elisha said, “Borrow as many empty jars as you can from your friends and neighbors. 4 Then go into your house with your sons and shut the door behind you. Pour olive oil from your flask into the jars, setting each one aside when it is filled.” 5 So she did as she was told. Her sons kept bringing jars to her, and she filled one after another. 6 Soon every container was full to the brim!
“Bring me another jar,” she said to one of her sons.  “There aren’t any more!” he told her. And then the olive oil stopped flowing.  7 When she told the man of God what had happened, he said to her, “Now sell the olive oil and pay your debts, and you and your sons can live on what is left over.”


We were reminded today in Sunday School that God is able to fill our empty jars.  The question remains..........Do I go to the Lord with my empty jars for him to fill them or is my life so busy that I don't take the time to go to him and ask?  As we read the story we see how God provided exactly what the widow needed in a desperate time of need.  If she didn't pay her debts, she was going to lose her children.  But God stepped in and provided.  This story gives me so much hope.  The Lord knows exactly what we need.  Dave and I are in a time of waiting and we need to ask God to fill our jars to the brim while he is preparing us, so when we have children, we can pour into them what God has poured into us.  Now is the time of preparation, God has big things ahead for us and I can't wait!  Lord, overflow my jars.  


1/27/2012 03:33:16 am

Many thanks for data

Reply
3/25/2012 06:05:28 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply
3/29/2012 03:23:47 am

good post

Reply
3/31/2012 09:27:41 am

THX for info

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.