Picture
Last blood draw for a few days!!!!
Went in today for a quick blood draw---- my last one for a couple days.  Today was the 7th blood draw in a row so I will gladly welcome a few days without being pricked.  And I didn't have to give myself any shots this morning - first shot today is 11am- the second part of the Lupron flare protocol I'm doing.   Then we go in tomorrow for retrieval which will take place at 9am  (10am back in Nashville).  This is considered a surgical procedure so no eating or drinking anything after midnight tonight.  I am very excited to get those eggs out and fertilized.   This is the part that gets really exciting but also very nerve 
                                                                                  racking as we wait in expectation for the true results.

My reading last night out of James couldn't have come at a better time.  
James 1: 2-8.  :  Testing of your faith.
2 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.   5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. 7 For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; 8 he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

The first part of course was a reminder that God puts trials in our lives sometimes to strengthen us, produce faithfulness and perseverance in us.  Dave and I don't know what the end results will be in the coming days, but we can be assured that God has put us through these trials for a reason and we pray that as He has allowed this into our lives that we have learned and will continue to learn the lessons he has taught us along the way.  Perhaps he is preparing us for something bigger and we needed this time of testing to be ready for it.  Whatever it is, I pray that we are ready and willing to obey.  We understand that when our faith is tested, it can bring out the best in us, just as fire purifies gold (1 Peter1:7) and just as training makes the athlete stronger.  May this testing/trial bring us closer to the Lord and help those around us see him more clearly too!

The second part - a bold statement but much needed for me to hear right now.  When I lack wisdom let me ask God and it will be given to me.  However, I must ask in faith without doubting, for if I pray weak, doubting prayers I will not receive anything from the Lord.    We must go to God believing that God IS, that he has all good; and that he is ever ready to impart to his children whatever we need.  We've been challenged to believe God for big things throughout this whole journey.  We've been challenged to pray with boldness and courage and even when things don't go our way to continue to believe God for his ultimate purpose and plan for our lives.  This needs to really take action now as we approach God for such a big request knowing He can do it and asking that He will do it.

I began reading a new book today that I borrowed from my friend Terri called Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo.  It's a good book if you haven't read it yet.  In reading it today I came across a fairly known story in Mark 2 about the paralyzed man who needs to be healed. He can't get to Jesus himself so four of his friends carry him on a stretcher. When they get to the house where Jesus is healing, the crowd is so large that they can't get close to the front door. So his four friends carry the paralyzed man up to the roof. They dig through the roof and lower the man down in front of Jesus.  The gospel says, Jesus was amazed at their faith and he heals the paralyzed man. What the man couldn't do for himself his friends did for him, and Jesus was amazed at their faith.

I stopped while I was reading and thanked God for everyone praying for us right now.  Its' not only our faith and our prayers but your prayers that He hears.  I am reminded that it was the belief and persistence of the paralyzed man's friends that brought healing and forgiveness for this man. 

We can't thank you enough for your prayers.  Your prayers and your belief do make a difference in our journey.  I pray that we can all approach God with boldness and courage in the coming days.

There was a period of nursing school that was really tough- I was struggling to see the end. I was feeling drowned in papers, tests, and overwhelmed by all that I needed to do.  I began to doubt God's plan for my life.  During that time, God reminded me through a song that I had people praying for me to get me through when I couldn't do it myself.  After writing this blog, that song couldn't be a more fitting end to this blog so I've attached the youtube below for you to listen to it.   I know I am encouraged to know you are praying for us and even more so that your prayers matters to God.






Update/Plan:
I just got a call from my IVF nurse who reported that my blood work was as follows:
Progesterone level: 1.8 (they like this to be at least 2 before egg retrieval)
HCG level:  264 (they like this over 100)

Due to my lower progesterone level- they are going to give me a booster dose of Novarel asap to increase my progesterone level.  Dave and I are on our way to Todd's Pharmacy again to pick that up and get that in my system.  Tomorrow we will still go forward with the retrieval.  The nurse told me not to worry that the doctor was doing this to be extra cautious.   I told her we'll do whatever we need to do at this time to optimize success!  
Kelly Galyean
4/11/2012 02:15:13 am

The strength that you two exhibit every day is truly inspiring! Thank you for keeping us updated....lots of prayers going up for you!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.